David Paparelli's Blog

Matthew 19:26

Home Again, Home Again

with 3 comments

Everything I did in Barcelona, worth talking about, I did the day I got in from Naples. I took the sleeper train from Milan to Barcelona and arrived in the Morning. The train ride was comfortable and I made it to the hostel without a problem. My room was not ready yet which gave me a couple hours to burn.

Instead of going out and seeing Barcelona, I hung around the hostel and got my flight back to the states in order. Once my room was ready I went up and took a nap. This is how the next two days of my stay went, but when I woke up from my nap I was at least active for that night.

I went down to the common room and met two American guys. They invited me to dinner. We ate tapas and had drinks. It was a real Spanish dinner. The restaurant was an outdoor cafe, we did not eat until 9:00, we had small portions, and drank. All the requirements were met. After dinner we went back to the hostel and discussed going out for the night.

Going out sounded good and I thought I had the energy to manage it. Boy, was I wrong. I was under the impression that going out in Barcelona was the same as every other city. I thought the bars would close at 2:00 and everyone would be heading home shortly after 1:00. This is not the case in Barcelona.

There were live bands playing in the bars until 4:00 and people did not head home until 6:00 in the morning. Don’t get me wrong, it was a great time, but after a two month trip I was way too exhausted to do this. I payed for it the next to days.

I started getting sick and to avoid it I stayed in the hostel. The trip had been too long for me to motivate my self to push through. So my plans for seeing Barcelona were down the drain. Hanging around the hostel I was able to meet a lot of people though.

My last night in Barcelona I went to dinner with an Aussie, said adieu to everyone going out, and set my alarm for 7:00 AM to catch my flight. The rest must have worked because I am on a plane to JFK right now and I am not sick. My voice is gone, but no tylenol is required. That being said, I would call my trip to Barcelona a success. A different kind of success.

It’s bizarre to say that I am on a plane headed home. I do feel like it is a good time to end the trip. Traveling does grow on you and you certainly get used to it. It’s just that I may have gotten too used to it. It will be good to sleep in the same bed for a few weeks, eat familiar food, and speak the native language of the country I am in without any effort. It has been a great trip and I am a disappointed it is over. This plane ride is certainly bitter sweet.

I saw everything I set out to see on the trip and much much more. My train log runs down further than I ever thought it would. Who would have thought I would go to a international soccer game in Brussels, walk through Brugge with a hooligan, have a drink with a chef from one of the best restaurant in the world in Copenhagen, see the gardens of Vienna, go canyoning in Intarlaken, and hike through Cinque Terre? Honestly, I had not even heard of Brugge, Interlaken, or Cinque Terre before my trip so I probably would not have guessed I would end up there.

Backpacking through Europe has had its ups and downs and the downs made the trip great just as much as the ups. It was the downs, usually, that put me in the situation to meet new people. Not that you need to work hard to meet people when you are living with them. Through this whole trip I have seen places that I love and places that I hate, but no matter where I was the people with me had the ability to make it an enjoyable experience. I have to give endless thanks to all the people listed in my “people I have met so far” page and many many more. Also, thanks if you have read any part of my blog so far. I will enjoy looking back on this blog and remembering what I have done and that alone made it worth writing. At the same time, It was a huge bonus to know that people were reading and I was sharing my experiences not just recording them.

This is by no means my last post on this blog. It is just the last post of this trip. I will keep writing and hopefully my life will remain interesting enough to read about…

Written by davidpaparelli

July 27, 2010 at 3:13 pm

Posted in Europe

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reading your blog has been a wonderful experience. I am really glad you decided to keep it up. I loved all the photos, too. I’m glad you were the smart traveler and knew when to stop and rest.
    But I am also glad you had that whirlwind night in Barcelona. You are also right about its being wonderful to go away and great to return, especially to the States. Just having a closet instead of a knapsack will be great. I am so happy for your having seen so much and met so many. This was such a special time, and reading about it made one part of it. So thank you and I am looking forward to your future posts. Love.

    Aunt Janet

    July 28, 2010 at 5:19 pm

  2. It’s been fun reading your posts my friend, I just might use it as an inspiration for my trip to Cambodia travelblog! Sorry for not keeping in touch, but I’ve been having my share of fun in Lima. Send me an email or ichat some point soon; take care and best of luck!

    Takashi

    August 4, 2010 at 3:33 am


Leave a Reply

